

Information Report

Date: March 19, 2025 Agenda Item: 8.1

To: Board of Trustees

From: Shawna Warren, Superintendent

Originator(s): Committee of the Whole

Jonathan Konrad, Deputy Superintendent, Education Services

Subject: **Edwin Parr First Year Teacher Division Nominee**

Background:

This year, Sturgeon Public Schools proudly received seven Edwin Parr First Year Teacher Award nominations from school principals, the highest number of nominees the Division has had in many years. This is a testament to the exceptional and dedicated first-year teachers Sturgeon is privileged to have and attract to its schools.

Typically, the Board would review and make a decision regarding the Division's nominee during the public Board meeting in March. However, because the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) advanced the submission deadline to March 18, 2025 — prior to this public meeting — a special meeting of the Board of Trustees was held on March 5, 2025.

During that special meeting, Trustees reviewed all seven nomination packages and letters of support, engaged in thoughtful discussion and selected Ella Stanley, a first-year teacher currently teaching at Sturgeon Heights School, as the Division's 2025 Edwin Parr First Year Teacher Award nominee. Each School Board in the province may submit only one nominee to their ASBA Zone Chair. Ella's nomination will now move on to the ASBA Zone 2/3 selection committee. The Board wishes her the very best of luck in the next stage of the selection process.

The Board of Trustees was deeply impressed with the quality of all seven nominees and wishes to congratulate each of these exceptional first-year teachers for their dedication, professionalism and positive impact on students and schools. Ms. Stanley's ability to take on a complex Grade 5/6 split class, navigate eight different curriculums and support cognitively impacted students during a strike — all while coaching, leading working groups and championing Indigenous Education — speaks to her incredible dedication and capacity as an educator. Her infectious optimism, deep commitment to students and leadership among colleagues are qualities that inspired her selection.

History

Edwin Parr homesteaded in the Meanook area near Athabasca in 1920. Prior to 1925, he began his long career in educational affairs as a member of the board with the George Lake School District. He served as Chair of the Board with the Athabasca School Division and was on the Council of the County of Athabasca from its formation in 1959 until his death in January 1963. Edwin Parr was President of the Alberta School Trustees' Association from

Information Report



1956 to 1962. Ed Parr, as he was known to all, instituted an "Annual Teacher Award" in his school system. Each year, a member of the teaching staff was chosen to receive a gold watch and an appropriate certificate for long and meritorious service.

In searching for a way in which his memory might be perpetuated and to honour the profession he so dearly respected, the Alberta School Trustees' Association established the Edwin Parr Teacher Award in 1964.

Criteria:

- Any first year Kindergarten Grade 12 teacher is eligible for nomination
- A minimum of 100 full-time equivalent days of teaching within the current school year is required (ie. September 2024 to June 20, 2025)
- May have up to 120 days of teaching service prior to signing a full-time contract.

The Board's nomination for the Edwin Parr First Year Teacher Award was submitted to the ASBA Zone 3/3 Selection Committee by March 18, 2025, according to the Association's required deadline.

Status & Relationship to Superintendent Leadership Quality Standard (SLQS):

This report aligns with the <u>SLQS</u> in the following way:

COMPETENCY: (1) Building Effective Relationships

INDICATORS: e. establishing constructive relationships with students, staff,

> school councils, parents/guardians, employee organizations, the education ministry and other stakeholder organizations.

COMPETENCY: (7) Supporting Effective Governance

INDICATORS: b. ensuring that all students and staff are provided with a

> welcoming, caring, respectful and safe learning environment that respects diversity and fosters a sense of belonging.

Governance Implications:

Education Act

Board responsibilities

33(1) A board, as a partner in education, has the responsibility to

(d) ensure that each student enrolled in a school operated by the board and each staff member employed by the board is provided with a welcoming, caring, respectful and safe learning environment that respects diversity and fosters a sense of belonging.

Board Policy 710: Employee Recognition

In recognizing the diverse contributions of Division employees and/or community members, the Board of Trustees supports a variety of programs, awards and certificates of recognition.





Edwin Parr/Excellence in Teaching Award Programs 3.3 The Superintendent or designate shall coordinate nomination procedures for both programs.

Administration is prepared to respond to questions at the March 19, 2025, Public Board meeting.

Attachment(s):

1. Edwin Parr Nominees



Edwin Parr Nominees



DAMON DAVIES

Four Winds Public School French Immersion Social Studies, 7,8,9; Health 7; Jr High



DIANE LEE

Landing Trail School

Grade 1& 2, Kindergarten Music





ZANE KLICS
Redwater
School

ELLA STANLEY
STURGEON
HEIGHTS SCHOOL
Grade 5/6 Core
Classes





MYA BAUMLE

Four Winds Public School

ELA 5; Science 5 & 8; Health 8 & 9; CTF; Sports Academy



Namao School

Specialized Programming

